Atlantic Convenience Stores Association Demo Options
Atlantic Convenience Stores Association

Best in Atlantic Canada’s Convenience Store Industry Celebrated at 2014 Retail Convenience Awards

November 6, 2014

2014 ACSA Retail Convenience Award Finalists2014 ACSA Industry Update & Retail Convenience Awards



Best in Atlantic Canada’s convenience store industry celebrated at 2014 Retail Convenience Awards


[Halifax, November 6, 2014] Atlantic Canada’s convenience store industry recognized industry excellence at the Atlantic Convenience Stores Association’s 6th annual Retail Convenience Awards Gala held at Casino Nova Scotia in Halifax last night. The convenience store industry in Atlantic Canada employs an estimated 25,900 people full- and part-time at 3,012 convenience store locations across the region, and generates more than a half-billion dollars in annual sales.


Presented by Atlantic Lottery Corporation, the awards cover seven categories. An independent panel of judges narrowed more than 100 nominations down to 24 finalists and then the seven winners.


The winner of the Independent Convenience Store Operator of the Year award for 2014 was James Allan Sutherland of Big Al’s Convenience in New Glasgow, Nova Scotia. Other finalists in the category were Brian Leblanc of Point Park Petro Canada in Riverview, NB, Lee El-Rabahi of Hydrostone Groceteria in Halifax, NS, Leno Ribahi of Leno’s Stop Shop in Elmsdale, NS and Larry and Jacinta Arsenault, operators of Elmsdale Corner Gas & Convenience in Elmsdale, PE.


The Corporate Operator of the Year award was presented to Derrick and Wanda Stuckey of Kelligrews Orangestore in Kelligrews, NL. The other finalists in this category were Paul Mahar, with three Needs Convenience stores in North Sydney, NS and Dave Morgan of Circle K #2100 in Mount Pearl, NL.


Bob Carmichael of Stratford Quick-Stop in Stratford, PE was named Emerging Convenience Store Operator of the year. Other finalists in this category were Jenny and Trevor Rodrigues, operators of two Needs Convenience/Sobeys Fast Fuel locations in Dartmouth, NS and Belinda Nason, operator of The Tracy Store in Tracy, NB.


Nova Scotia’s finance minister, Diana Whalen, received the Industry Partner (Regulatory) award. The other finalists in this category were Senator Pierrette Ringuette and Bruce Northrup, MLA for Kings East in New Brunswick.


The Industry Partner award was presented to Karic Sales (Red Bull). Runners-up in this category were Atlantic Lottery Corporation and Coca-Cola Refreshments.


Pepsi NEXT was recognized in the Innovative Beverage category award over Dasani Drops and Bomb Energy Drink, while Aero Caramel or Strawberry Big Bubble Bar was selected over other finalists PowerBar ProteinPlus, Stride Sour Patch Kids Gum and Cadbury Dairy Milk Caramel Popcorn in the Innovative Food category.


“Everyone is a winner in my book,” said Mike Hammoud, president of the ACSA. “We were so pleased to have had so many great companies and individuals to choose from.”



Mike Hammoud, President

© Copyright 2013 ACSA. All Rights Reserved.