Atlantic Convenience Stores Association Demo Options
Atlantic Convenience Stores Association

Best in Atlantic Canada’s Convenience Store Industry Celebrated

November 4, 2016

Atlantic Canada’s convenience store industry recognized industry excellence at the Atlantic Convenience Stores Association’s 8th annual Retail Convenience Awards Gala held at Pier 21 in Halifax, Nova Scotia.


The convenience store industry in Atlantic Canada employs an estimated 28,300 people full and part-time at 3,300 convenience store locations across the region, and generates more than a half-billion dollars in annual sales.


Sponsored by Atlantic Lottery Corporation, the awards recognize excellence in the following categories: President’s Excellence, Innovative Beverage, Innovative Food, Innovative Health Food or Beverage.


The President’s Excellence award is given to businesses that have demonstrated excellence in operations, and are clearly viewed as an important and valuable part of their community. Winners of the 2016 President’s Excellence Award were: Corey Craig Group, Moncton, NB; Tony and Peter Diab, Express Way Rite Stop, Dartmouth, NS; Reg and Carol-ann Knott, Fitzgerald’s Rite Stop, Timberlea, NS; Dave Morgan, Frecker Drive Circle K, St. John’s, NL; and Darren and Michelle Brooks, Sunbury Drive Grocery Ltd/Geary Quik Mart, Fredericton area, NB.


Jones Soda was the winner in the Innovative Beverage category over Muscle MLK and Pepsi Ginger, while Double Dutch Ridgies was selected for the Innovative Food category. Other finalists for Innovative Food were Flamin’ Hot Cheetos and Ruffles Hot Wings.


The Innovative Health Food or Beverage category included finalists Compliments Naturally Simple Granola Bars and Natrel Milk; Brookside Fruit and Nut Bar was named the category winner.


“Everyone is a winner in my book,” said Mike Hammoud, president of the ACSA. “We were so pleased to have so many great companies and individuals nominated.”


Mike Hammoud, ACSA President; Tom Harris and Scott Meek, Atlantic Lottery Corporation; Michelle and Darren Brooks, Sunbury Drive Grocery Ltd./Geary Quik Mart; Warren Maynard ACSA Chair

© Copyright 2013 ACSA. All Rights Reserved.